Tape delay

Was digging through some boxes in the basement and came up with a little something from a long-abandoned project (I’d estimate around 2004 or so)..:

When time becomes a loop, when time becomes..

Quite simply, the idea here was to modify a useless cassette deck to a tape delay unit. However, I never got much further than this loop cassette as I was unable to get the tape running at a constant speed. Not sure whether additional roller guides (or such) would’ve been needed inside the shell, but what little I was able to test didn’t work. Hence, the project got binned pretty soon after.

Had I gotten the loop cassette running smoothly, there would’ve been plenty of problems to tackle. For instance, the gap between record and playback heads is pretty narrow. So, unless the tape deck would’ve been wired to run in reverse (and at adjustable speed), the delay time would’ve been pretty short.

So yeah, just a short fun post since coming across the cassette brought back some memories :).. If you’ve actually built similar-ish thing, I’d love to see some links and sound examples. I know the one from Dr. Zee, but I’d be moreover curious to see whether the speed issues off my single cassette approach could be made to work..

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

