Atari Jaguar ROM switcher

Seems like I’m getting more and more a console-fanatic, as I found myself fetching a Atari Jaguar from the post some weeks ago! Digging through resources for this console around the net, I came across with JagOS and BJL. Despite not being much of a coder, I thought maybe a simple boot ROM switcher would be of some use anyway. With simple I mean a circuit where the Chip Enable (CE) signal from the CPU is routed through a SPDT switch to two different boot ROMs. Prior powering up the system, one of the ROMs is selected by flicking the switch.

Not much to this mod really, all in a couple hours of work. Desolder the original ROM, solder in a socket, make a adapter board for the boot ROMs, install switch to control CE routing and program the additional ROM with JagOS..


.. or well, the top halve of the case did need a bit of reworking thanks to yours truly winging the design without any measurements. Luckily the switcher board did fit in so I didn’t have to redo it :). Now then, a RGB cable for this console would kick ass..

2013-09-15, ERRATA: Apparently also _OE (pin 24) needs to be switched, otherwise there’ll be signal conflicts if both ROMs are installed. I’ll get this post fixed and do a new set of photos as soon as I can. Sorry!

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Atari Jaguar ROM switcher”

  1. arto says :

    Klaus and Nat! have a neat page about Jaguar hardware here:

    http://www.mulle-kybernetik.com/jagdox/dox.html

  2. arto says :

    And also check out Roine Stenberg’s Jaguar Server:

    http://hem.passagen.se/isvar/jaguar_server/jserver.html

  3. 10p6 says :

    So I see the new Rom socket on the motherboard which looks great. I see the two Rom sockets on the breadboard, and the connecting wires underneath, but I do not see any male pins on the breadboard to plug into the motherboard socket. Do you have any more pics?

    • arto says :

      Indeed, the pins are not yet added on the picture displaying the solder side of breadboard. Unfortunately I don’t have any additional pics nor can I take new ones as the Jaguar is boxed away.

      If you look at the aforementioned picture, I simply used leftover component feet to extent the socket feet protruding through the breadboard. With component feet I mean the bits you are left with when you trim eg. a resistor to be installed on a board. These leftovers are easy to solder in place and stiff enough to withstand careful insertion to a socket.

Leave a Reply

