Elektor Vocoder, part 5

Talking about the problems sourcing the BPF board capacitors for the vocoder project with various buddies,  SP-Elektroniikka located in the city of Oulu (northern Finland) eventually popped up on one of these discussions. Having stripped quite a few old devices for possible usable/suitable parts with weak results, I’d rather see this project advancing instead sticking with my initial plan of making it 99% out of recycled parts. Thus, some shopping is called for.

Anyway, as I was told, one specialty of this electronics shop is guitar parts and that meant “obscure” value capacitors (used for passive filters and such) among others. So, quick look through their catalog and what do you know, nearly full range of E-series caps indeed! Wonder why this shop didn’t pop up in the various searches I have made earlier?! Given what I was about to order (maybe 5€ worth of capacitors), their shipping costs were ridiculously high in comparison. Not that they had any other parts that were on my “pending list” to justify the costs either. Lucky for me, it turned out that one of my friends happened to live almost next to this shop so I asked him to buy and deliver these parts to me. So finally, I now have all the required capacitors in my hands. Couple of values had to be made by combining a few other caps, but nonetheless my search finally came to a end! Much thanks to Break for the help <3

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

