QuadSID, datawheel fail

Whilst working on the remaining cabling I noticed that my control surface design is missing one button altogether, namely the button next to the menu encoder that is used to activate selected menu items. Hence, one more button to install and a hole to drill.. Except that I’ve already painted the front panel and passed it on to Petri for labeling!

So, I now need to figure out how to work around this issue. The button is such a critical one that it can’t be left out and there’s hardly any good location for it in the current layout. One option is to replace the encoder with a model that has a switch integrated into the shaft, but I have no idea where to source one. Looks like this project is going on hold until I come across a solution. Have to admit that the amount of two-steps-forward-and-one-backward -type of progress with this project is starting to piss me off.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

